Fox and Bailey headline FACS Alumni Awards honorees
February 28, 2023
Author: Brandi Herrin  |   | More about Brandi

The UGA College of Family and Consumer Sciences will recognize several outstanding alumni and induct Linda Kirk Fox and Lynn Bailey into its Honor Hall of Recognition at the 44th annual Alumni Awards event on March 24.

Fox served as the seventh dean of the college and presided over tremendous growth during her decade-long tenure. In that time, funded research doubled, enrollment increased by over 20 percent and the number of endowed professorships grew from five to 15.

Bailey, professor and department head emerita, led the department of nutritional sciences for 11 years. In addition to being an internationally-known researcher in the area of folate status assessment, Bailey presided over tremendous growth in the department.

The Honor Hall is the college’s highest honor, reserved for individuals who demonstrate impeccable character, commitment, outstanding leadership and who made significant contributions to the field of family and consumer sciences.

In addition to Fox and Bailey, FACS will recognize alumni and friends of the college, including:

Joseph Kindler, Pacesetter Award: This award is given to a graduate of the last 10 years who actively promotes the beliefs and values of family and consumer sciences.

Kindler, a 2017 FACS graduate, is an assistant professor of nutritional sciences and the director of the UGA Nutrition and Skeletal Health Laboratory. His work has been published over 35 times and he has amassed over $500,000 in grant funding.

Lance Palmer, Creswell Award: Given in honor of the college’s first dean, this award recognizes a current or retired faculty or staff member who has provided leadership in motivating and guiding students.

Palmer is co-founder of the FACS financial planning program and has received several awards for his student and community engagement work through the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program.

Elizabeth Grant, FACS Appreciation Award: This award is given to an individual or organization that has contributed significantly to the support of the college either financially, programmatically or legislatively.

Grant, a clinical associate professor at the UGA School of Law, serves on the ASPIRE Clinic Advisory Group to facilitate case work between FACS and law students working at ASPIRE.

Kenisha Franklin, Outstanding Service Award: Established in 1999, the Outstanding Service Award is presented to graduates for continued involvement in their community, faith community, helping organization, the college or the FACS Alumni Association.

Franklin is a 2010 graduate and is a Realtor with Keller Williams Intown Atlanta and Property Management Professional with RangeWater Real Estate. She is the committee chair for IREM-GA’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion committee and a member of the FACS Residential Property Management Advisory Board.

Contey Smith, Emily Quinn Pou Professional Achievement Award: Established in 1999 in honor of the college’s fourth dean, this award is presented to graduates who have attained substantial achievements and are at the midpoint of their careers.

Smith co-founded Motus Wealth Management in February of 2022 and was recognized in the inaugural class of 50 under 50 African American Advisors in 2021.

Emma Laing, Distinguished Alumni Award: The award recognizes a FACS graduate who has made lifelong contributions that reflect the beliefs and values of the college.

Laing is a clinical professor and director of dietetics at FACS, where she has received numerous awards for teaching, mentoring, and diversity and inclusion efforts.

“We are so proud to recognize the tremendous legacies of Dean Fox and Lynn Bailey and the significant contributions they made to FACS,” FACS Dean Anisa Zvonkovic said. “This group of honorees represents our college so well, as evidenced by the many accolades each honoree has received. We look forward to celebrating all of our honorees at this year’s event.”

Click here to register for the event.